8th in World Cup overall – The last stage.

7 10 2013

After a tough period with heavy legs and an unmotivated mind which made me train less and not participate in the Swedish Long Champs I managed to turn the negative feelings into something positive.  After a tough weekend with Swechamps in middle and relay I felt tired, yes, but I found some joy that made me want to go all in for the last World Cup stages this year.

It started out bad. I continued sleeping even worse than lately during some nights, most because of the hotel situated between the railway and a high traffic road. My body felt dizzy while preparing for the middle distance. I did my best keeping on to my plan, with offensive running (and accept the body I have at the moment) and focusing on no control-mistakes. Unfortunately I started to stress when I realized my map was totally muddy after sliding down a steep slope. (We had those ”plastic maps” without plastic bags, which isn’t good when it’s rainy and muddy, and I’ve still not learnt by reflex to put my map in the mouth in this kind of situations. )And after that I also put too much focus on my legs that got so tired after each uphill run. Even though I didn’t do so many technical mistakes on the 2nd part of the course, I continued loosing a lot of time, and ended up far down in the result list. And as a nice arrival gift at the finish: I was called to a doping control… But now I’ve started to get used to it, and this was a much better time than really early in the morning as it was in Italy one month ago.

During the evening I had a good talk with my mental coach Ingela and it was perfect for me to air all my feelings and thoughts about my body which doesn’t really cooperate. I could decide that I will take care of it and try to get more answers after the season is over, which is very soon. Now I had one international race left, the big sprint race in Baden. I got to take the chance!

I ran a good technical race where I felt very comfident all the way with my decisions. It felt great to cross the finish line and feel that I acutally did exaclty what I had planned to do. I ended up as 12th, just over a minute behind fabulous Simone. I actually was at 6th position less than 2 minutes from finish, but I lost too much time in the steep stair up to the 16th control and lost many places, but luckily that didn’t matter for the total result in the World Cup.  I was at the 6th position before this last stage, but lost two spots the last day which gave double amount of points. I am still happy that I could finish my season with a non-stressed race which been my problem for several months. And an 8th place in the overall world cup is quite cool!

(At all my Postfinance-sprint participations I’ve become 12-13-14-12 (2009, 2011, 2012, 2013). Next year I will surely go for better!)

After the womens race it was amazing to feel the great athmosphere when everybody in Baden thanked Simone for her incredible career, which sadly have come to an end. It was emotional even for us, her competitors, who got great battles and the privilege to compete against her for years. Thank you Simone for being such a great star!

1383078_518355734906244_587985962_nPhoto: Skogssport

Results: World cup overall 

Tracking: GPS Sunday sprint

Television: World Cup final SVT

Now I’m looking forward to this coming weekend with 25-manna. GMOK have 4 great teams on the starting line and I’m sure it will be a really funny weekend, with tough battles against other great teams. I don’t know yet which leg I will run, that will show later… And after 25-manna the season is over. A period with total rest. YES!

Åtgärder

Information

One response

22 07 2017
wellness

Appreciating the time and energy you put into your website and in depth information you provide.
It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Great read!
I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Kommentera

